R.I.P Nelson Mandela! We Love You!

By Emmy and Lou

There are thousands of people who feel that it is useless and futile for us to continue talking peace and non-violence — against a government whose only reply is savage attacks on an unarmed and defenceless people. And I think the time has come for us to consider, in the light of our experiences at this day at home, whether the methods which we have applied so far are adequate.

Nelson Mandela, Interview (1961)

220px-Young_Mandela

During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons will live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for. But, my lord, if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.

Nelson Mandela, Statement in the Rivonia Trial, Pretoria Supreme Court (20 April 1964)

BawZ5roCYAE1oS1

Friends, Comrades and fellow South Africans. I greet you all in the name of peace, democracy and freedom for all. I stand here before you not as a prophet but as a humble servant of you, the people. Your tireless and heroic sacrifices have made it possible for me to be here today. I therefore place the remaining years of my life in your hands.

Nelson Mandela, Speech on the day of his release, Cape Town (11 February 1990)

220px-Nelson_Mandela-2008_(edit)

No one is born hating another person because of the colour of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.

Nelson Mandela, Long Walk to Freedom (1995)

Nelson-Mandela-Quotes-3NM

BaweOoeCAAAWnSU

401342_330782010295543_100000912399184_1025258_1120269798_nMJ Executors Pay Tribute To Nelson Mandela

December 05, 2013

Michael Jackson was proud to call Nelson Mandela his friend. Like millions of admirers around the world Michael drew inspiration from President Mandela’s courage, his fight for human dignity and his commitment to peace. During his visits to South Africa Michael met often with President Mandela, who described Michael as “a close member of our family.” Our hearts go out to President Mandela’s family and to his beloved South Africans as they mourn their incalculable loss.

– John Branca and John McClain, Co-Executors The Estate of Michael Jackson

This entry was posted in Tributes, Charity&humanitarian works and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

